



THE JURIES OF THE 42nd TFF: THREE FEMALE PRESIDENTS

Margaret Mazzantini, Roberta Torre, and Michela Cescon will chair the juries that will award the prizes in the three competing sections of the Torino Film Festival

Margaret Mazzantini, **Roberta Torre**, and **Michela Cescon** will chair the juries of the competitions of this year's **Torino Film Festival**: Feature Film Competition, Documentary Competition, and Short Film Competition, respectively. Festival Director **Giulio Base** gave the news as he also announced the names of all the other prestigious jurors.

The members of the three juries - each with their own personal expertise and authority - are a fitting representation of the Italian and international cultural and film panorama, with a careful eye on the traditions of the seventh art and, at the same time, on its new languages and declensions.

The president of the **Feature Film Competition** is **Margaret Mazzantini**, an author, playwright, and screenwriter whose works have won prestigious literary awards such as the Premio Strega for *Non ti muovere (Don't Move)*, the Premio Campiello for *Venuto al mondo (Twice Born)*, and the Premio Flaiano for *Nessuno si salva da solo (You Can't Save Yourself Alone)*. The members of her jury are: the Macedonian director **Milcho Manchevski**, Golden Lion in Venice for his film *Before the Rain*, which was also nominated for an Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film; the French actress **Anne Parillaud**, internationally known for her iconic performances in movies such as *Nikita* by Luc Besson and *One 4 All* by Claude Lelouch; **Giovanni Spagnoletti**, movie critic and a former professor of film history and critique at Tor Vergata University of Rome, has written and/or curated over one hundred publications in the field of cinema and is also the editor of the film studies magazine and web-magazine *Close up*; **Krzysztof Zanussi**, one of the most significant authors of Polish film, the director and screenwriter of movies such as *The Structure of Crystal* (1969), *The Illumination* (1973), *The Constant Factor* (1980), *A Year of the Quiet Sun* (1984), and *The Perfect Number* (2022).

The **Documentary Competition** is chaired by **Roberta Torre**, documentary filmmaker and the winner of numerous David di Donatello and Silver Ribbon awards for movies such as *Tano da morire* (*To Die for Tano*, 1997), *Angela* (2002), *Mare nero* (*The Dark Sea*, 2006), *I baci mai dati* (*Lost Kisses*, 2010), *Riccardo va all'Inferno* (*Bloody Richard*, 2017), and *Mi fanno male i capelli* (*In the Mirror*, 2023). With her: the American filmmaker **KD Davison**, whose movie *Fragments of Paradise* won the award for best documentary on cinema in the Venezia Classici section of the 79th Venice International Film Festival and the Grand Jury Prize at Doc NYC; **Federico Gironi**, journalist, author, film critic, and co-curator of the Venezia Classici section of the Venice International Film Festival.





The **Short Film Competition** will be chaired by the actress **Michela Cescon**, who won a David di Donatello and a Silver Ribbon for *Romanzo di una strage* (*Piazza Fontana: The Italian Conspiracy*) and was nominated for the movies *Primo amore* (*First Love*), *L'aria salata* (*Salty Air*), and *Piuma* (*Feather*), and who debuted as a director in 2021 with *Occhi blu* (*Blue Eyes*). The jury will be composed of: the Serbian actor **Darko Perić**, who, following the international success of *Money Heist*, has performed in films such as *Judas' Gospel* and *Death Do Us Part*, and the actor **Nicola Nocella**, who won a Silver Ribbon as best newcomer of the year for *II figlio più piccolo* (*The Youngest Son*) by Pupi Avati and for best short film actor for *Omero bello-di-nonna*.

The **Torino Film Festival** is produced by the **National Cinema Museum of Turin**, with the contribution of the Italian Directorate General for Cinema and Audiovisual of the Ministry of Culture (MIC), the Piedmont Region, the City of Turin, the Fondazione Compagnia di San Paolo, and the Fondazione CRT.

Torino Film Festival Press office: ManzoPiccirillo – <u>info@manzopiccirillo.com</u> Pierluigi Manzo – M: +39 347 0133173 Alessio Piccirillo – M: +39 393 9328580 Antonino Scalzo – M: +39 339 4821000 With the collaboration of Maurizio Gelatti - <u>m.gelatti@contesti.it</u> - M: +39 347 7726482

National Cinema Museum

Head of the Press Office - Veronica Geraci – <u>geraci@museocinema.it</u> - T: +39 011 8138509 – M: +39 335 1341195 Press and web Festival - Helleana Grussu, Carlotta Zita – <u>press.tff@museocinema.it</u> – T: +39 011 8138865/864