Torino 36 Jury

Jia Zhang-Ke
(Fenyang, Shanxi, 1970) graduated from Beijing Film Academy. His debut feature Xiao Wu won awards in Berlin and Vancouver. His films have premiered in the major European festivals. Still Life won the Golden Lion in Venice in 2006, A Touch of Sin won the Best Screenplay Award in Cannes in 2013, Mountains May Depart was in competition in Cannes 2015 and his latest feature Ash Is Purest White, that premiered in Cannes in 2018, will be released in Italy by Cinema srl. Several of his films have blurred the line between fiction and documentary.

Marta Donzelli is founder, together with Gregorio Paonessa, of the indipendent production company Vivo Film, which has released more than forty films, selected and awarded in the most prestigious international festivals. Among them, Le quattro volte by Michelangelo Frammartino; Via Castellana Bandiera by Emma Dante; Vergine giurata and Figlia mia by Laura Bispuri; I figli della notte by Andrea De Sica; Nico, 1988 by Susanna Nicchiarelli (Horizons Award at the 74th edition of the Venice Film Festival). She is now teacher at the Cinema College of the Holden School (2017-2019).

Miguel Gomes
(Lisbon, Portugal, 1972) worked as a film critic for the daily “Público.” In 1999, he directed his first short, Entretanto, shown at the Torino Film Festival, as was his next short, Cântico das Criaturas (2006) and the feature-length Tabu (2012). That same year, the Festival dedicated a complete retrospective to his work in the section Onde. Gomes debuted in feature films with A Cara que Mereces (2004), which was followed by Aquele Querido Mês de Agosto (2008) and Tabu (2012). In 2013, he participated at the Venice Film Festival with the short Redemption and he returned to the Quinzaine with As Mil e uma Noites.

Col Needham
(Manchester, England, 1967) is the founder and CEO of IMDb. He went on to complete a computer science degree at Leeds University. IMDb grew out of a personal database of movie information which Col created as a teenager, combined with data collected in the late 1980s. He published the first version of IMDb online in October 1990. He is a board member of Into Film and Film Independent. He received a 2014 Creative Coalition Independent Spotlight Award for his work to support independent filmmaking, he was a jury member at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival, 2016 Tribeca Film Festival and 2018 SXSW Film Festival.

Andreas Prochaska
(Vienna, 1964) has recently directed all episodes of Das Boot produced by Bavaria, Sonar Entertainment and Sky. It features Lizzy Caplan, Vicki Krieps and James D’Arcy and was shot in English, French and German as a continuation of the original story. Andreas’s past credits include the features The Dark Valley, starring Sam Riley, and A Day For a Miracle, which won one International Emmy. He worked as assistant editor and editor on a number of films, such as Michael Haneke’s The Castle and Funny Games. His breakthrough came with The Three Mailrobbers, which was based on a novel by Christine Nöstlinger.