Fipresci Award Jury 2017

Mehdi Abdollahzadeh (Iran, 1975) is a film critic, programmer and specialist of Iranian cinema. He obtained his Bachelor’s degree in English literature at the University of Shiraz and his Master’s degree in communication science in Lugano. He has been a member of the editorial board for several movie magazines in Iran. Contributor of Atlas by the “Cahiers du cinéma” in 2005 and 2006, he has also worked as a consultant for the festival Vision du réel from 2004 till 2010. In recent years he contributed to cultural magazine of Swiss German Television (SRF) and currently collaborates with “7Sobh Daily Newspaper.”

Marta Bałaga is a film journalist based in-between Poland and Finland. She writes for several international newspapers and magazines including “Episodi,” “SIRP,” “Dwutygodnik,” “Cineuropa” and “La Furia Umana.” She collaborates with Helsinki International Film Festival - Love & Anarchy, T-Mobile New Horizons Film Festival and Warsaw Film Festival. While in Italy, she worked with such filmmakers as Alessandro Rossetto and the late Gian Vittorio Baldi. Member of the Finnish Critics’ Association SARV.

Giovanni Ottone (Italy), film critic and journalist, he is specialist in the cinema of Latin America, Spain, Scandinavia, Turkey, and Israel. He has published books and articles on different film magazines in Italy, Great Britain, France, and Brasil. From 2007 to 2016 he’s been part of the selection committee of the Festival of Pesaro. He’s also been member of the jury in many international film festivals and from 2001 he organized and curated retrospectives on art film in Italy and abroad.